No. 2419677/2419361 Fax: 0821-2419363/2419301

Ì

Ą

e-mail: registrar@uni-mysore.ac.in www.uni-mysore.ac.in

#### OF MYSORF UNIVERSITY

Estd. 1916

Vishwavidyanilaya Karyasoudha Crawford Hall, Mysuru- 570 005 Dated: 28.05.2016

No.AC.2(S)/384/14-15

## **NOTIFICATION**

01-6

Sub: Minor modification in the syllabus for B.Sc. in Physics from the Academic Year 2016-17.

Ref: 1. Decision of the Faculty of Science & Technology Meeting held on 16.02.2016.

2. Decision of the Academic Council meeting held on 29-03-2016.

The Board of Studies in Physics (UG) which met on 9-11-2015 has resolved to make modification in the syllabus for V and VI semesters to be implemented from the academic year 2016-17. This is applicable to students studying in B.Sc III and IV semesters during 2015-16 and onwards as follows from the academic year 2016-17.

The modified syllabus for V and VI semesters is as follows.

Compulsory Paper1: Spectroscopy and Electronics

Compulsory Paper 2: Condensed Matter physics

# V Semester

Elective paper 1: Solid state and Semiconductor physics

Elective paper 2: Lasers and Fiber optics

Elective paper 3: Molecular physics

Elective paper 4: Renewable energy physics

Elective paper 5: Atmospheric physics

# VI Semester

Compulsory Paper1: Relativity and Quantum Mechanics

Compulsory Paper 2: Nuclear Physics

Elective paper 1: Analog and Digital Electronics

Elective paper 2: Opto-electronics

Elective paper 3: Astrophysics Elective paper 4: Elements of Material Science Elective paper 5: Communication systems

Each paper is of two hour duration per week and carries 70 marks out of which 10 marks is for IA and 60 marks for theory examination.

A student has to take both the compulsory papers and one elective paper during V Semester and also in VI Semester.

The Faculty of Science and Technology and the Academic Council at their Meetings held on 16.02.2016 and 29.03.2016 respectively have also approved the above said proposal and the same is hereby notified.

ما ارو لاتيم

Deputy Registrar (Academic)

# Draft approved by the Registrar

<u>To:</u>

- The Dean, Faculty of Science & Technology, DOS in Earth Science, Manasagangotri, Mysore.
- 2. The Chairperson, Board of Studies in Physics, Manasagangotri, Mysore.
- 3. The Chairperson, Department of Studies in Physics, Manasagangotri, Mysore.
- 4. The Director, College Development Council, University of Mysore, Mysore.
- 5. The Principals of the Affiliated Colleges where running UG Programme in Science stream.
- 6. The Coordinator, Directorate of Online & Outreach Programme, Parakalamatta, Manasagangotri, Mysore.
- 7. The Deputy/Assistant Registrar/Superintendent, Academic Section, Administration Branch, University of Mysore, Mysore.
- 8. The Deputy/Assistant Registrar/Superintendent, Examination Branch, University of Mysore, Mysore.
- 9. The P.A. to the Vice-Chancellor/Registrar/Registrar(Evaluation), UOM., Mysore.
- 10. Office file

Science Notification-2016-17 Ja