CRITERIA FOR SECLECTION OF University of Mysore Bharat Ratna Centenary Awards

The University of Mysore, during its centenary year 2016, has instituted three annual awards with above title, one each in the names of three eminent Bharat Ratna awardees associated with the University of Mysore. They are:

- 1. Bharat Ratna Sir M. Visvesvaraya Centenary Award for Innovation in Technology,
- 2. Bharat Ratna Dr S. Radhakrishnan Centenary Award for Social Sciences and
- 3. Bharat Ratna Prof C.N.R. Rao Centenary Award for Science.

The award carries a Medal, a citation and a purse of Rs. 5 lakhs.

The Medals will be awarded to persons of Indian origin working anywhere in the world for Lifetime Achievement in the areas of science, technology and social science/philosophy/literature/law who have made an international impact. A person should be established in the appropriate area of scholarship and should preferably be above the age of 55 years. Persons who have already been recognized with international honors such as the Nobel Prize, Fields Medal etc. are not preferred for this Medal.

Awards shall be made on the recommendation by a panel of experts of outstanding repute, chaired by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Mysore. The panel should consist of three such eminent members-preferably, one each with background in science, technology, and social science/philosophy/literature/law. If found necessary, the Vice Chanceller consultation with committee members may co-opt one more expert member of similar credentials.

The selection shall be made by a panel chaired by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Mysore and three eminent scholars, one each with background in science, technology, and social science/philosophy/literature/law. If found necessary, the Vice

Chancellor in consultation with committee members, may co-opt one or more expert member(s) of similar credentials.

Candidates are preferably nominated by eminent scholars/administrators such as Presidents of National Academies, Directors of National Institutes, Vice Chancellors, etc., However, candidates may also apply for the award directly.